Transitions

As I sit on the patio and take in the view of the magnificent Flatiron Mountains and the brilliant change of colors in the aspen trees that come with the fall season, I realize how happy I am.

Every year I look forward to the change between the lush green foliage and bright warm sun that accompanies the summer month,s to the crisp air and breathtaking autumn hues that bring in the fall.  The transition between the two seasons always seems to sneak up on me.  It isn’t until we’re in the throes of the full fall color that I realize what’s happened to the summer season.    When did that happen?  Transition is like that.  Sometimes you don’t realize you’ve gone through one until it’s over.

Webster defines the word as:  a movement, development, or evolution from one form, stage, or style to another.  Over the past 18 months, my life has been one movement, development and evolution after another.  It started out with me being a single woman, living the in the Midwest with a career that I loved and a life that I was content with.  I had family and friends close by, and enjoyed a comfort that comes from knowing what to expect from day to day.  Then I met my husband and my world turned upside down.

In 18 months I’ve transitioned from being in a 2 year long distance relationship to packing up everything I own and moving cross country to be with the love of my life.  I’ve changed careers, got married, widened my family circle, made new friends, bought a new home, and as if all that wasn’t enough, we’ve recently added a puppy to our family.

Until today, I hadn’t really thought about the journey and the fact that, although it was a lot of  change, it was all good stuff and I would do it again in a heartbeat.  It was the sunshine dancing off of the beautiful colors of the tree leaves that made me stop and take note.  In this quiet fall moment on our patio, I am consumed by the journey that life has taken me on and how incredibly blessed and grateful I am.  I’m not saying that it’s all been easy, but it has been a beautiful journey filled with love, trust and adventure.  In a word:  priceless.

Categories: Reflection

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 replies

  1. Good things happen to good people, and you are one of the best! I look forward to hearing “the rest of the story”!

Leave a Reply

