Can Every Day Be Valentine’s Day?

17746224_m

This is a re-post from last year, but the message still holds true.  Enjoy!

Whether you like it or not, it’s that time of year when the card companies make a lot of money selling Valentine’s Day cards and trinkets to people who feel the need to profess their undying love for their partner.  Don’t get me wrong.  There’s nothing wrong with giving your Sweetie a card that has a special sentiment.    I enjoy giving and receiving those types of sentiments as well, but sometimes, most times, the best tolkens of love to give are the ones you give on a daily basis.

When my husband and I were long distance dating I wanted to give him something extra special.  I was in MN and he was in CO.  We saw one another about once every three weeks to a month, and usually for a long weekend.  From a distance, finding ways to show him how much I loved and appreciated him was challenging.  Those stretches in between visits could be brutal.

A couple of years ago, we were in a long distance funk.  It was very hard to be apart for those long stretches when we knew we wanted to be together forever.  So that particular year, throughout the month of January, whenever I thought of something that I loved about Steve I would write it down.  At the end of the month I found myself with a list of over 300 things I loved about him.  I typed out that list, putting 30 to a page.  I cut out each of them, rolled them into tiny scrolls, and tied each one with a red ribbon.  I put all of the little scrolls into a beautiful box and presented it to my Sweetie for Valentine’s Day.  The idea was that while we were apart, he would have the opportunity to draw a scroll whenever he needed a “Mindy” fix, or to be reminded of why we were dating from a thousand miles away.

He LOVED my gift and why wouldn’t he?  I was sharing with him special sentiments of all the things about HIM that I loved.  It was incredibly personal.  Things like, “I love the way you walk when you’re sleepy” and “I love the way you always see the good in people and you try to help people see the good in themselves”.  Some of the sentiments I’d shared with him previously, but others he hadn’t heard before and came as a surprise to him.  He was truly touched by my efforts and felt as loved as I had hoped he would.

Fast forward to today.  We’re now married and I feel like every day is Valentine’s Day!  We now live in the same state…  even in the same house!  Life is good and my husband and I do a great job of sharing our appreciation for one another on a daily basis.  Instead of having a scroll to unwrap to learn those special things, we remember to show our love daily.  We say thank you.  We do things to make each other’s lives easier.  We text little ditties during the day.  We nurture one another’s spirits and truly care for one another.  Some may say that we’re newlyweds and those behaviors will fade with time.  I’d like to think that the very act of doing those things regularly will help our relationship to stay youthful and full of love.

So during this holiday of love, after you’ve found the perfect card and box of chocolates,  be sure to remember that the most important gift you can give to your partner is to love and nurture them all year-long.  On a daily basis, find ways to tell them how special they are.  When you are actively looking for things to love about someone, they seem to manifest and become more prevalent.

Happy Valentine’s Day 2013

Categories: Love

Tags: , ,

4 replies

  1. I always called Valentines Day “Hallmark Day” and told my husband I would prefer a daisy “just because” in August then a bunch of roses on February 14th. I love this blog Mindy and I agree with every word, and if anyone is going to learn anything from it it is that the little things you do for each other, the thank yous you give, the garbage you take out because it has to be taken out, the bed you make while your partner is in the shower, the text message saying “I love you or I was just thinking of you, those are the little things that mean so much and enrich a relationship so much more than Hallmark can ever attempt to achieve.

  2. So sweet! I remember when you did the scroll thing and it inspired me to do something similar. I found journal entries I had written when Luke and I first started dating. There were lots of entries listing things I loved about – some that I had forgotten! I printed out a bunch and cut up strips and leave them for him some mornings before I go to work. It’s a small reminder of why we fell in love and why we got married! I also find him to be more loving and attentive on those days – that’s always a good bonus 🙂 Thanks, Mindy!

Trackbacks

  1. How We Survived Long Distance Dating – Part 1 | mindyaltermatt

Leave a Reply

